Add New Steps to a Flow After It Has Been Activated

You can add new Steps to a Flow after it has been activated. 
Once you've added the new Steps, just activate the flow if it's paused. Any people that enter the updated Flow will then be eligible to enter the new Steps. 

For people already in the Flow, it will depend on the circumstances whether they will flow into the new shapes. This is explained further below.

✅ People that are currently in the flow can enter the new Steps.

People that have already entered the Flow but haven't left it — haven't reached the last Step in the Flow and haven't been excluded through Filter Steps or ejected through End Flow Steps — are eligible to continue to the new Steps.

✅ People on Wait Steps that haven't expired yet can enter the new Steps.

People that are currently in a wait Step (I.e, are shown as "are here") are eligible to continue to the new Steps. 

Even if the Wait Step is the last Step in the Flow, people can still continue to the new Steps as long as the Wait Step hasn't expired (I.e, the people are shown as "are here"). 

In the example below the 45 people can continue to the new Steps. The 357 that have ended the Flow through that Step ("were here") will not continue to the new Steps.

❌ People who have ended the Flow will not enter the new Steps.

People that have ended the Flow won't be eligible to enter the new Steps.
A person can end a Flow in one of the following ways:

When a person reaches the last Step of the Flow.

Let's say you have this Flow, and the Send Email Step at the bottom is the last Step of the Flow. Once a person enters that Step, they won't be eligible to enter any newly added Steps. I.e., those 272 will not continue to the new Steps. An exception to this rule is a non-expired Wait Step.

When a person reaches the end of the Flow with an expired Wait Step.

In the example below, the Wait Step is the last Step of the Flow. If a person enters that Step and the waiting period expires, they won't be eligible to continue to new Steps. 
However, those that are still in the Step can continue. In other words, the 357 people that were in that Step will not enter the new Steps, and the 45 that are still there will do.

When a person is ejected from the Flow with an End Flow Step.

In the example below, if a person triggers the event "Account Paid", they will be ejected from the Flow and won't be eligible to enter any newly added Steps.

When a person is ejected from the Flow with a Filter Step.

 A person could also end their Flow if they're not eligible to proceed. For example, if they entered into a Filter Step and didn't meet its criteria. 

In the example below, I'm using a Check Field Filter Step to make sure that only people which field value contains "Choosing the right marketing automation tool" continue to the Wait (3 hours) Step. If a person doesn't meet this condition, they will not continue in the Flow — the Flow will end for them, and they will not be eligible to enter any newly added Steps.

What happens to a person once they end a Flow?

Regardless of the reason for ending the Flow, once a person ends their Flow, they will remain on the Step that they ended their Flow on, even if new Steps are added subsequently.


How to get people to re-enter a Flow

If you want people who have ended their Flow to re-enter the Flow, you can do so by adding another Trigger Step (e.g. an Entered Segment or Tag Added Step), connecting it to Step you'd like them to re-enter the Flow on.

In the example below I'm using the Entered Segment Trigger to define a specific segment of people that I'd like to re-enter the Flow. 

Notice that I have selected to include people "Who are currently in this segment, and who enter this segment in the future." This is to ensure that people who are currently in the segment re-enter the Flow. 

Once the Flow is activated and the people re-enter, you can delete this Step.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.